The Three Functional Minds | 3HO International

The Three Functional Minds

What are the Three Minds? The human being is made up of Ten Bodies. The second, third, and fourth bodies are mental bodies called the three functional minds: the Negative Mind, the Positive Mind, and the Neutral Mind.

The Second Body: Negative (Protective) Mind

Can I determine if there is danger in a situation? What do I need to consider?

The Negative Mind helps you to give form to the creativity of your Soul Body with the gifts of containment, form, and discernment. It instills in you a longing to belong which, in its highest expres­ sion, drives you to connect very deeply with your own God self. It gives you patience to be obedient to your own inner guidance.

If your negative mind is underdeveloped, your longing to belong can cause you to get into inappropriate self-destructive relationships because you are over-influenced by others; you aren't contained enough in your own center.

Key Concepts:

"Longing to Belong"

Guru Angad

Containment, Obedience

Key to Balance: Value your discipline. Develop conscious relationships of integrity.

Third Body: Positive (Expansive) Mind  

Am I open to all possibilities that life has to offer? Do I let these into my life?

The Positive Mind sees the positive essence of all situations and beings. It is expansive and allows resources in. It gives you a strong will and allows you to use your power easily and humbly. It makes you naturally playful and optimistic and gives you a good sense of humor. It makes your communication strong and direct.

If the Positive Mind is weak, it is like receiving a daily injection of poison. You can be overwhelmed by the input of your Negative Mind which can be depressing and paralyzing. You may be angry and intolerant or hesitate to use your own power, your own heat, because you are afraid of the responsibility it brings or afraid that you might abuse it.

Key Concepts:

"Devil or Divine"

Guru Amar Das

Equality, Positivity

Key to Balance: Strengthen the navel point. Increase your self-esteem. Use positive affirmations.

Fourth Body: Neutral (Meditative) Mind

Do I allow myself to perceive and act upon inner wisdom?

The Neutral or Meditative Mind is the ultimate "win-win" mentality. From here you look at the whole play of life with compassion. The Neutral Mind evaluates the input of your Negative and Positive Minds (and the rest of the Ten Bodies as well) and gives you guidance within nine seconds. It is a very intuitive vantage point and allows you to access your Soul.

If your Neutral Mind is weak, you may have a hard time making decisions. You'll have the habit of feeling victimized by life because you don't know how to integrate your experiences and find meaning in them. You may have a hard time seeing beyond the polarities of life on Earth and tuning into the great cosmic scheme of things.

Key Concepts:

"Cup of Prayer'

Guru Ram Das                                     

Service, Compassion, Integration

Key to Balance: Meditate

From The Aquarian Teacher Training Manual